The category of living things entails organizing life forms based on shared characteristics. Words taxonomy is the term offered to define the category of life things. The taxonomy that living things starts in ~ the broadest level and moves come the most specific level. The an easy taxonomy of living things involves eight unique levels. Each level that the taxonomy is described as an separation, personal, instance taxon.

You are watching: Which of these groups has the most organisms?

taxonomy of living things person

Level 1: Domain

There space three domains: Eukarya, Bacteria and Archaea. The broadest method to divide a living thing is to decision which of these three domain names it falls within.

Living things within the Eukarya domain are the persons most most likely to be covered in general science or an easy biology classes. This domain has plants, animals, protists and fungi. Bacteria and also Archaea are single-celled organisms the differ through regards to their cellular structure. This are most likely to be extended in advanced science courses.

Domain to be not constantly included in the taxonomy of life things. It to be taught as a seven-level taxonomy for plenty of years, yet an eighth level (domain) was included in 1990.

Level 2: Kingdom

The simple taxonomy of living things consists of six kingdoms. Each of the three domain names (above) is associated with specific kingdoms.

Eubacteria (domain Bacteria) - usual bacteria choose the an excellent bacteria discovered in yogurt and the poor bacteria that reason bacterial infectionsArchaebacteria (domain Archaea) - unusual bacteria such together those discovered in settings that room devoid of oxygen or are exceptionally acidicPlantae (domain Eukarya) - every plantsAnimalia (domain Eukarya) - all pets Fungi (domain Eukarya) - spore producing organisms (mushrooms, tree, yeast, and also most mold)Protists (domain Eukarya) - microorganisms the don’t autumn into among the other kingdoms (algae and also slime mold)

Example: because that each level, review exactly how humans are classified. People belong to the kingdom Animalia.

Level 3: Phylum

Once a decision has been made around which kingdom a living organism need to be classified in, the next step is to recognize which phylum that belongs in. There are multiple phyla (plural that phylum) because that each kingdom. of several of the most frequently known phyla include:

Anthophyta (kingdom Plantae) - flower plants, including vegetables, fruit, beans, and nuts Arthropoda (kingdom Animalia) - invertebrate animals with an exoskeleton, segmented bodies, jointed limbs, and a vented main nervous systemChordata (kingdom Animalia) - pets that have a notochord (like the umbilical cord ~ above a baby), a dorsal hollow nerve cord (spinal cord), pharyngeal slits, and a practical or vestigial tailConiferophyta (kingdom Plantae) - plants the stay environment-friendly year-round, such together fir and juniper trees

Example: humans are in the phylum Chordata.

Level 4: Class

Once one organism has actually been assigned come a phylum, assigning it to a class is the following step in classification. Many classes room assigned to each phylum. of several classes in the phylum Chordata include:

Amphibia - animals born through gills the later construct lungs and spend components of their lives in water and also parts ~ above land; they have to reproduce in water Aves - warmth blooded animals with wings; lock reproduce through interior fertilization and lay eggs Mammalia - vertebrate animals that have devoted teeth, solid jaws, are conceived and born via the mother’s reproductive tract, and also nurse indigenous their mothers Reptilia - cold-blooded animals with dry, rough skin; all other than for snakes are tetrapods (which way they have 4 legs)

Example: human beings are in the course Mammalia.

Level 5: Order

Once one organism has been assigned come a class, the following step in classification would be to usage a taxonomic crucial to entrust it to an order. Each class includes numerous orders. For example, there are 19 assignment within class Mammalia. A few include:

Carnivora - mammals that have canine teeth advantageous to their generally meat-centric diet; most are hair covered and tend come be little to tool in sizeChiroptera - is composed solely that bats, which room the only mammals that have the capacity to flyPrimates - mammals with level nails on theirs hand (instead that claws), relatively big brains, capacity to sit and also stand upright, requires treatment for an extended time after birth

Example: people are in the order Primates.

Level 6: Family

After identifying an organism"s order, the following step in group is to recognize which family it is in. Every order has multiple families. A couple of of the dozen primate family members include:

Hylobatidae - the lesser apes (gibbons and siamangs)Hominidae - the an excellent apes (chimpanzees, gorillas, orangutans, and humans)

Example: human beings are in the family Hominidae.

Level 7: Genus

Each family in the taxonomy of living things have the right to be determined by genus. For the household Hominidae, the genus departments are as listed below. Please keep in mind that, uneven the previous levels, genus and species names need to not be capitalized and should be italicized.

pan (chimpanzees) gorilla (gorillas)pongo (orangutans)homo (humans)

Example: people are in the genus homo.

Level 8: Species

The last level of classification is species. In part cases, there is just one varieties per genus, while there are multiple varieties for others.

The genus homo has actually only one varieties (sapiens).

Example: humans are in the varieties sapiens.

Acronym because that Remembering the Taxonomy

If you’re looking for an easy way to help you mental the levels of the taxonomy, over there is a mnemonic device that can assist you remember the group names in the suitable sequence. The an initial letter in every word that the adhering to sentence is the same as the very first letter of every level, in order: “Do kings play chess top top fine gold stands?”

do - Domainkings - kingdomplay - playchess - classon - orderfine - familygold -genusstands - species

See more: What Does The A Stand For On Hockey Jerseys Mean? A On Hockey Jerseys

Categorizing Life Forms

This taxonomy is base in the occupational of Carl Linnaeus, that in the 1700s introduced the first system for classifying life organisms in a continuous manner. Before the introduction of the Linnaean system, over there wasn’t an agreed-upon mechanism for categorizing life organisms. The system he introduced centuries ago has been sleek by scientists over hundreds of years, however still creates the communication of the device used today.

Expanding Your clinical Knowledge

Now the you have a basic understanding of how living organisms room classified, girlfriend should know what it way when human beings are described as homo sapiens. The is just the proper terminology because that the genus and species of human being beings. Further expand your scientific understanding by trying out the crucial characteristics of living things.