Awards Calder Memorial Trophy Winners

Award very first presented in 1933 honors top rookie

The Calder Memorial Trophy is an yearly award offered "to the player selected as the many proficient in his an initial year of compete in the nationwide Hockey League." The winner is selected in a vote of the professional Hockey Writers" association at the finish of the constant season; every voter ranks the top five candidates ~ above a 10-7-5-3-1 point out system. 3 finalists space named and also the trophy is awarded at the Awards ~ the playoffs.

You are watching: 1967 nhl rookie of the year

From 1936-37 until his fatality in 1943, chairman Frank Calder to buy a trophy every year to be offered permanently come the superior rookie. After ~ Calder"s death, the gift the Calder Memorial Trophy in his memory and also the trophy is come be retained in perpetuity.

In 1990, 31-year-old Sergei Makarov that the Calgary Flames ended up being the oldest player to success the Calder. Beginning with the 1990-91 season, the rules to be amended so the players room eligible for the Calder just if they space no more than 26 years old by Sept. 15 of your rookie season.

See more: Is Tilapia A Bottom Feeding Fish, Are Tilapia Fish Bottom Feeders

To it is in eligible because that the award, a player cannot have played more than 25 gamings in any single preceding season, no one in six or much more games in each of any two preceding seasons, in any significant professional league. The came right into play 1979-80, as soon as Wayne Gretzky was not eligible to win the Calder regardless of tying Marcel Dionne for the scoring lead v 137 points (the vault rookie record at the time was 95), because he had played a full season in the civilization Hockey combination in 1978-79. The Toronto Maple Leafs lead all groups with 10 football player who"ve won the Calder.

Video: Kirill Kaprizov wins Calder Memorial Trophy

Calder Memorial Trophy Winners2020: Cale Makar, Colorado Avalanche2019: Elias Pettersson, Vancouver Canucks2018: Mathew Barzal , brand-new York Islanders2017: Auston Matthews , Toronto Maple Leafs2016: Artemi Panarin, Chicago Blackhawks2015: Aaron Ekblad, Florida Panthers2014: Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche2013: Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers2012: Gabriel Landeskog, Colorado Avalanche2011: Jeff Skinner, Carolina Hurricanes2010: Tyler Myers, Buffalo Sabres2009: Steve Mason, Columbus Blue Jackets2008: Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks2007: Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins2006: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals2004: Andrew Raycroft, Boston Bruins2003: Barret Jackman, St. Luigi Blues2002: Dany Heatley, Atlanta Thrashers2001: Evgeni Nabokov, San Jose Sharks2000: Scott Gomez, New Jersey Devils1999: chris Drury, Colorado Avalanche1998: Sergei Samsonov, Boston Bruins1997: Bryan Berard, New York Islanders1996: Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators1995: Peter Forsberg, Quebec Nordiques1994: martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils1993: Teemu Selanne, Winnipeg Jets1992: Pavel Bure, Vancouver Canucks1991: Ed Belfour, Chicago Blackhawks1990: Sergei Makarov, Calgary Flames1989: Brian Leetch, New York Rangers1988: Joe Nieuwendyk, Calgary Flames1987: Luc Robitaille, Los Angeles Kings1986: Gary Suter, Calgary Flames1985: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins1984: Tom Barrasso, Buffalo Sabres1983: Steve Larmer, Chicago black color Hawks1982: Dale Hawerchuk, Winnipeg Jets1981: Peter Stastny, Quebec Nordiques1980: beam Bourque, Boston Bruins1979: Bobby Smith, Minnesota phibìc Stars1978: Mike Bossy, New York Islanders1977: Willi Plett, Atlanta Flames1976: Bryan Trottier, New York Islanders1975: Eric Vail, Atlanta Flames1974: Denis Potvin, New York Islanders1973: Steve Vickers, New York Rangers1972: Ken Dryden, Montreal Canadiens1971: Gilbert Perreault, Buffalo Sabres1970: Tony Esposito, Chicago black color Hawks1969: Danny Grant, Minnesota phibìc Stars1968: Derek Sanderson, Boston Bruins1967: Bobby Orr, Boston Bruins1966: Brit Selby, Toronto Maple Leafs1965: i get it Crozier, Detroit Red Wings1964: Jacques Laperriere, Montreal Canadiens1963: Kent Douglas, Toronto Maple Leafs1962: Bobby Rousseau, Montreal Canadiens1961: Dave Keon, Toronto Maple Leafs1960: invoice Hay, Chicago black Hawks1959: Ralph Backstrom, Montreal Canadiens1958: open minded Mahovlich, Toronto Maple Leafs1957: Larry Regan, Boston Bruins1956: valley Hall, Detroit Red Wings1955: Ed Litzenberger, Chicago black Hawks1954: Camille Henry, New York Rangers1953: Gump Worsley, New York Rangers1952: Bernie Geoffrion, Montreal Canadiens1951: terry Sawchuk, Detroit Red Wings1950: Jack Gelineau, Boston Bruins1949: Pentti Lund, New York Rangers1948: Jim McFadden, Detroit Red Wings1947: Howie Meeker, Toronto Maple Leafs1946: Edgar Laprade, New York Rangers1945: open minded McCool, Toronto Maple Leafs1944: Gus Bodnar, Toronto Maple Leafs1943: Gaye Stewart, Toronto Maple Leafs1942: approve Warwick, New York Rangers1941: Johnny Quilty, Montreal Canadiens1940: Kilby MacDonald, New York Rangers1939: frank Brimsek, Boston Bruins1938: Cully Dahlstrom, Chicago black Hawks1937: Syl Apps, Toronto Maple Leafs1936: Mike Karakas, Chicago Blackhawks1935: Sweeney Schriner, new York Americans1934: Russ Blinco, Montreal Maroons1933: Carl Voss,Detroit Red Wings